…Taiwan-born Chang Chiao-Ying played the rarely heard cadenza by Alfred Schnittke with command. The bleak tone in the Mozart C minor concerto was immediately set in the first two notes of the piano’s entry, conveying an earnest beauty.
South China Morning Post – Hong Kong Sinfonietta 3 September 2012


…Chang began as she meant to go on, tackling the opening cadenzas of Beethoven’s Emperor concerto in strict time and with brilliant clarity. Her playing was percussive and bright, punctuated by some explosive dynamic contrasts. She might perhaps have brought more lyricism to the outer movements, but there was immense energy throughout – and a refreshing sense of Beethoven’s continuing ability to shock.
The Herald (Tamworth) – Orchestra da Camera 15 April 2011


Taiwanese soloist, who will surely be a name to look out for over the coming years. Despite her small stature, Chiao-Ying Chang combined immense power with the most delicate and expressive playing in a performance which would be extremely hard to beat.
The Herald (Plymouth) – Ten Tors Orchestra 27 November 2007


…in Mozart’s Piano Concerto no.21 in C…The young Taiwanese pianist Chiao-Ying Chang was the charming soloist, her fingerwork crisp and confident, her colouring rounded and rich without any forcing. She made highlights of the cadenzas (often yawn-stifling from some hands), and her collaboration with Curtis’ sparkling woodwind in the finale brought fleeting awareness of passing clouds in an otherwise blue sky.
The Birmingham Post – Orchestra of the Swan 8 November 2007


Chiao-Ying Chang was the soloist in Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto. Aged just 25, she showed a nimbleness and a stamina with bags of technique way beyond her years.
The Argus – Brighton Philharmonic Orchestra September 2006


Taiwanese pianist Chiao-Ying Chang is just 23 years old but she plays with a maturity far beyond those years. This slim and slightly-built young lady is a muscular player and began her recital with a powerful reading of Beethoven’s Fourth Sonata… She plays like a soul possessed… Her concentration is fierce and deep and she is well focussed with bags of technique and shed loads of attack.
The Argus – Brighton Festival May 2004


The impressive soloist in Beethoven’s Fourth Piano Concerto, given on 21 October at St. Martin’s was Chiao-Ying Chang from Taiwan. Her performance of the opening Allegro incorporated an ethereal lightness of touch with powerful dramatic attack and was rounded off with a riveting Cadenza. She played with control and clean articulation and an outpouring of high spirits in the Finale.
Musical Opinion – London Soloists Chamber Orchestra January 2004